Literature Lottery

Modern Library, a division of Random House, had compiled a 100 Best Novels (in the 20th century) list in 1998. Apparently, it was so well-received by bibliophiles that a rival of theirs, Radcliffe Publishing Course also produced their own 100 Best list, though at the request of Modern Library. There is also a 100 Best Nonfiction list. Readers get to place their votes too on their opinion of the 100 Best Novels and Nonfiction lists. The readers and board’s lists are side by side.

*

In Modern Library Board’s 100 Best Novels list, I have read

31. ANIMAL FARM by George Orwell
41. LORD OF THE FLIES by William Golding
64. THE CATCHER IN THE RYE by J.D. Salinger
94. WIDE SARGASSO SEA by Jean Rhys (This is the book I studied for my STPM Literature in English paper! STPM is Malaysian’s A-Levels equivalent.)

In Modern Library Reader’s 100 Best Novels list, I have read

5. TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD by Harper Lee
19. THE CATCHER IN THE RYE by J.D. Salinger
24. GONE WITH THE WIND by Margaret Mitchell
25. LORD OF THE FLIES by William Golding
26. SHANE by Jack Schaefer (This is the book I studied for my SPM Literature in English paper! SPM is Malaysian’s O-Levels equivalent.)
51. THE HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY by Douglas Adams

In Radcliffe Publishing Course’s 100 Best Novels list, I have read

2. THE CATCHER IN THE RYE by J.D. Salinger
4. TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD by Harper Lee
5. THE COLOR PURPLE by Alice Walker
8. THE LORD OF THE FLIES by William Golding
17. ANIMAL FARM by George Orwell
26. GONE WITH THE WIND by Margaret Mitchell
72. A HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY by Douglas Adams
81. WIDE SARGASSO SEA by Jean Rhys

In Modern Library Board’s 100 Best Nonfiction list, I have read

none of the 100 books listed.

In Modern Library Reader’s 100 Best Nonfiction list, I have read

none of the 100 books listed.

*

You can tell I’m such a sucker for book lists. Literature lottery for me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 09:08:31

    Yes. You love lists. So do I but I’m too tired now to go check them out. Heh. 😛

    sulz: actually, the lists are mostly to show off what books i have read rather than to actually inform my readers of such lists, seeing as they aren’t exactly up-to-date!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

