Be Fab with BAFAB

Welcome to BAFAB, the site that urges visitors to buy books for no good reason. BAFAB is celebrated during the first weeks of every January, April, July, and October.The rules are simple

Just get yourself to a real-life or virtual book store during Buy a Friend a Book Week (the first weeks of January, April, July, and October) and, well, buy a friend a book (or e-book)! But here’s the fun part: you can’t buy your friend a book because it’s their birthday or they just graduated or got engaged or had a baby or anything else. You have to give them a book for no good reason. In fact, this present out of the blue from you should shock the pants off of whomever you decide to give it to. And it’ll make them happy. And that’s the point: promote reading, promote friendships.

What’s in it for you?

Apart from the joy inherent in giving, you get to slap a sticker on your web site to advertise your beneficence: select from these possibilities. (If you don’t have a web site, stick with that joy in giving thing.) Spread the word by blogging about your choice of book and book recipient. Look at me, you’ll be saying to your site’s visitors, I am the sort of person who buys gifts for my friends for no good reason. Befriend me! Love me! Read me.

I’m too stingy to actually buy a book, so my version of celebrating this wonderful idea is by giving away books I don’t want. I’m not exactly sticking to the time frame of the first week of January either, as the friends I want to give to I hardly meet up.

I gave Theclea my photocopied copy of Jean George’s My Side of the Mountain, as I have bought a used paperback copy of it. Patricia received my photocopy of Tex by S. E. Hinton (since she has read The Outsiders, therefore can fully appreciate the author’s craft, and I didn’t have an Xmas gift for her when we met at a party whilst she has given some muffins). I’m giving Samantha my photocopy of Theodore Taylor’s The Cay. If it’s anything, my photocopied copies cost more than my used paperbacks!

Join the fun with me, and leave a comment telling me who have you given a book to and what!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RG
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 12:30:56

    I’m planning to get my sweetie these two books:

    Stories Rabbits Tell: A Natural and Cultural History of a Misunderstood Creature by Susan E. Davis and Margo Demello, and Rabbit Language Or: “Are You Going To Eat That?”

    He just adopted two mini lops this past Saturday and has been as happy as can be. I’m just hoping he can get packages at his place.

    sulz: hmm, are you having an ldr? rabbits are cute! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Be Fab With BAFAB III « The Literary Pursuit
  3. Trackback: Be Fab with BAFAB II « The Literary Pursuit
  4. Trackback: Be Fab with BAFAB IV « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

