Pay Less Books Stock Clearance Sale

Biblio = book

Oniomania = excessive shopping

Massive Bibliooniomania Spree – 11 books for only RM32.50!!! But they’re secondhand books. Not that it matters, so long as I can read them fine, right!!!

Best of all is that I found all the S. E. Hinton books!!! And that Robert Cormier’s banned book The Chocolate War!!!

AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! *orgasmic moan of delight*

Ahhh, I’m just going to let my books do the talking.

Tex by S. E Hinton.
Rumble Fish by S. E Hinton
That Was Then, This is Now by S. E Hinton
Taming the Star Runner by S. E Hinton
The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
I Am the Cheese by Robert Cormier
My Side of the Mountain by Jean George.
The Cay by Theodore Taylor. Ditto.
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred Taylor
She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb. With an Oprah Book Club tag.
The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse.

I know, it’s all young adult fiction. But you know I’m nutters about ‘em. To think I almost missed all this because I wanted to sleep in some more! (It’s the last day yesterday.)

*

On another note, what banned books huh? I saw dozens of Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood at the sale, and it’s one that made the list of banned books in Malaysia.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bibliobibuli
    Dec 18, 2006 @ 09:25:16

    only 1 edition of “divine secrets” was “restricted” (not “banned”) – this was the one with the women wearing bikini tops. it was the cover not the content.

    your choices look interesting and it’s great to see you happy!

    sulz: ahh, good to know that! book buying always make me happy, hee. 😀

    Reply

  2. lovelyloey
    Dec 18, 2006 @ 19:20:45

    Wow, that’s still cheap for 2nd-hand books!
    Woot, I did Roll of Thunder for Literature in sec 2, but have forgotten all about it. LOL. Just remember it’s this family of African-American children near the Mississippi (argh I nearly couldn’t spell this).

    sulz: well, my choices were pretty non-mainstream, so i guess that’s why the cheap prices. if only we could do interesting young adult novels for literature back then… we did the pearl by john steinbeck, not exactly relatable to teens…

    Reply

  3. Kel
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 00:12:00

    I’m pretty sure every book we read while I was in high school was on a banned list at some point… Catcher in the Rye… the bell jar maybe? black boy maybe? I’m not sure if it was because they were meaningful books, so they were banned, or if we read them just to be different…
    excuse me while I navigate through link after link to finally find that list of banned books you refer to… I’m always interested in what’s off-limits.
    Ah ha. Pretty much anything telling a woman how to be pretty or good at sex… except seriously, maybe you’re all better off not wasting your money on that crap…
    Is islam off limits there, or just certain messages about it?

    Anyway, looks like they haven’t gone an banned anything that’s actually a GOOD book… so I guess it could be worse

    sulz: banned books were banned because of controversial content in other parts of the world, but in malaysia it can be quite arbitrary.

    lol, sorry to have led you on a link treasure hunt. it isn’t so much about how crap the books are, but the fact that the government is trying to dictate what its people can or cannot read that gets to malaysian booklovers.

    books talking about the good things about islam are available anywhere; it’s the one condemning islam that’s forbidden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

