Early Book Meme

1. How old were you when you learned to read and who taught you?
I think I started reading about 8 years old, thanks to those secondhand Enid Blytons bought by my mother at garages sale.

2. Did you own any books as a child? If so, what’s the first one that you remember owning? If not, do you recall any of the first titles that you borrowed from the library?
I can only remember reading those secondhand Enid Blytons. Among my favourite were the Amelia Jane series, The Three Brownies, The Faraway Tree series, and the short stories.

3. What’s the first book that you bought with your own money?
Bah, these questions are ridiculous! I can’t bloody remember that!

4. Were you a re-reader as a child? If so, which book did you re-read most often?
Again, those secondhand Enid Blytons. (For someone whose reading habits were high influenced by Enid Blyton, it’s such a shame she had not kept any of her books.) In my tweens, I liked rereading the Singaporean series The Bookworm Gang and Sweet Valley Twins and Friends.

5. What’s the first adult book that captured your interest and how old were you when you read it?
This meme is making me feel like such an arse for not remembering things from my past regarding books. Bloody hell, next question!

6. Are there children’s books that you passed by as a child that you have learned to love as an adult? Which ones?
Oh, this is the worst book meme I’ve ever done!

But tag me if you’re doing it. At least it’ll make me feel better. 😦

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Dec 10, 2006 @ 08:35:19

    Alamak I cannot do this~ I don’t remember my childhood~ don’t even think I read then~ LOL

    sulz: exactly! i’m only doing this to fill up the meme post count in my categories…

    Reply

  2. RG
    Dec 12, 2006 @ 12:24:08

    I can’t do this meme, either – short of the book series I read as a kid, I don’t remember anything else!

    sulz: haha, i know! hopefully the next meme will be do-able for you.

    whoever thought up this meme, anyway? *mutters*

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Books That Define Your Childhood « The Literary Pursuit
  4. lovelyloey
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:34:32

    Why did I get a different version of this meme via my RSS?? Did you edit it after publishing? Cos I saw something about R.L. Stine and Christopher Pike and I totally remember those. HAHA.

    nylusmilk: hmm, i don’t remember editing this. anyway, i keep throwing the same old titles around when i talk about books i read as a kid. 😀 you don’t read stine and pike meh?? they were all the rage, i remember!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

