Very Short Stories… Literally

Wired held a competition for stories told in six words only. This is not new as Hemingway had did it once and claimed it as his best work

“For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

Nevertheless, it is a refreshing concept and there were plenty of good ones. I’ve copied a dozen thirteen (so many were so good took me a damn while to whittle to 13) I liked best and it fascinates me how a picture forms in my mind with just these six words. You’ll notice I’ve picked some noted people in the tv and literature industry; there are more at the link above.

1. Failed SAT. Lost scholarship. Invented rocket. – William Shatner

2. Gown removed carelessly. Head, less so. – Joss Whedon

3. Machine. Unexpectedly, I’d invented a time – Alan Moore

4. whorl. Help! I’m caught in a time – Darren Aronofsky and Ari Handel

5. Lie detector eyeglasses perfected: Civilization collapses. – Richard Powers

6. I’m dead. I’ve missed you. Kiss … ? – Neil Gaiman

7. The baby’s blood type? Human, mostly. – Orson Scott Card

8. To save humankind he died again. – Ben Bova

9. Husband, transgenic mistress; wife: “You cow!” – Paul Di Filippo

10. Help! Trapped in a text adventure! – Marc Laidlaw

11. He read his obituary with confusion. – Steven Meretzky

12. Dorothy [Wizard of Oz]: “Fuck it, I’ll stay here.” – Steven Meretzky

13. Starlet sex scandal. Giant squid involved. – Margaret Atwood

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Very Short Stories II « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

