E-mail Literature

With Daily Lit and ArcaMax, you cannot procrastinate reading a classic you’ve always claimed to want to read any more because these sites provide a variety of e-books for you to read in small excerpts via e-mail. It wouldn’t feel like real reading because it’s sent to your inbox, and you read it just as if it’s another cheesy forward mail you get from your friends. What I especially like about Daily Lit is that you can customise how often you want to have the snippets of stories delivered, whether it’s once or thrice a week. And if you’re in a particularly reading mood, you can even opt to receive the next fragment immediately, or if you need to stop reading to concentrate on your exams, you can also choose to suspend the service! Very user-friendly.

Right now, I’m subscribing to L. Frank Baum’s The Wizard of Oz from DailyLit. It comes in 51 parts, but I’ve set the e-mail frequency to 3 times a week (Monday, Wednesday & Friday), so I should be able to finish this children’s book by a little more than 4 months. Not that it takes me that long to read finish such a simple book, but it’s an appetizer for harder books to enjoy after I finish this. I have my eye on rereading Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women or trying out Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

I like this concept better than the various free e-books websites available on the Internet because I cannot read a book on the computer, it feels too long and my eyes will hurt after a while. However, I have no problems reading blogs and I believe it’s because of the relatively shorter content. Thus, with the e-mail concept, it limits me from reading and overstressing my vision; I won’t have to depend on myself to discipline myself from reading too much or not reading at all because of my non-enthusiasm.

Another similar site, Page By Page Books has a slightly different concept but with the same bit-by-bit mentality. It does not plop the whole e-book in one page but separates them into pages. So when you’re finish with page 1, you click on the link to the next page. It cannot beat Daily Lit’s idea from a dial-up user’s point of view. However, if I’m not wrong, this site has some titles Daily Lit does not.

So, what are you waiting for? Don’t be a literature dunce. Enrich that legroom above that is your imagination!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RG
    Nov 06, 2006 @ 02:02:44

    What a beautiful blog you’ve got here!

    I receive Anna Karenina through Daily Lit, and I just started reading The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton via Page By Page, thanks to you!

    sulz: thank you for the kind comment! wonderful, isn’t this service? cheers to more free reads!

    Reply

  2. laosboyme
    Nov 26, 2006 @ 16:15:15

    Thx! a lot

    sulz: thanks for commenting!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Free E-books Directory « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

