The Other Side of the Story – Marian Keyes

tosots

Marian Keyes is the international bestselling author of Watermelon, Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married, Rachel’s Holiday, Last Chance Saloon, Sushi for Beginners, Angels, and most recently The Other Side of the Story, a Sunday Times Number One Bestseller. She is published in twenty-nine different languages. A collection of her journalism, called Under the Duvet, is also available in Penguin. Marian lives in Dublin with her husband.

The book in one sentence: The lives of three interrelated women in the world of book publishing (but add some delicious men and bitchy backstabbing action and you’ve got yourself a chick lit).

Who would you recommend it to: Chick lit lovers, of course, but also anyone who’s interested in how the publishing business works.

Best bits: Nothing really stands out. There are a few laughs here and there.

Boring bits: The sideplot of a character’s mother’s totally losing it when her husband leaves her for a woman just only four years older than their only child, which is said character.

One random review quote:

“Another chart-topping blockbuster from publishing goddess Marian Keyes… packed with sound writing, wit and common sense” — Guardian

Verdict: Makes for a nice read on a lazy day at home as chick lit is hardly brain-sapping. (Precisely why I like reading it.)

Other Marian Keyes’s books I’ve read: Sushi for Beginners, Rachel’s Holiday, Last Chance Saloon, Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhiannon
    Oct 24, 2006 @ 03:14:21

    I’ve never read any of her books but due to your review I’m putting Marion Keyes’ books on my winter reading list. I don’t feel inclined towards reading anything heavy right now so maybe I’ll just drop in the library today and start my winter reading early. 😉

    sulz: oh, my first chick lit convert! you won’t regret it, with your sense of humour. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kel
    Nov 24, 2006 @ 23:02:04

    The Other Side of the Story was the first book I ever read by Marian Keyes. I think I found it a little long and jumpy with following the three women… I can’t remember if I liked it or not but I definitely liked her books that I read afterwards. The Irish sisters are my favorite–their family values are so crazy

    sulz: it was, wasn’t it? i expected those three women to have a showdown at the climax or something, but at the end it was so anticlimax instead. irish sisters? which book is that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

