25th Anniversary of Banned Books Week (23.09.2006 – 30.09.2006)

I just cannot understand why books should be banned for not being politically correct. Maybe restricted would be a better solution, at least to avoid children reading inappropriate material, like movie ratings.

Truly, it would be a shame if some of the books I have read were still banned, because they were the ones who really gave me food for thought even if they did not entertain much.

Among the banned books I have read in the list are:

bb

Do you?

To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee (one of the best books I’ve ever read)
Catcher in the Rye J. D. Salinger (one of the worst books I’ve ever read – personally)
Lord of the Flies William Golding (a book I never expected to be so disturbed by)
The Color Purple Alice Walker (a book I never expected to enjoy reading)
Gone with the Wind Margaret Mitchell (a personal achievement to finish this book – the longest I’ve ever read; took me a month and at the peak of my reading speed at that)

I really should start reading more literary books instead of my fluffy rubbish (like that Geri Halliwell autobiography I just borrowed from the library – so sue me for having been a Spice Girls fan and having liked Ginger Spice best among the quintet). But like food, it’s the junky kinds which are the funnest to read.

(Yea, and look what happens to your vocabulary.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. booklover
    Oct 01, 2006 @ 06:45:33

    Gone with the wind and to kill a mockingbird are wonderful books – I love reading them!

    sulz: i couldn’t agree with you more about to kill a mockingbird, but i must say that i found gone with the wind a tough read. scarlett, the sequel to gone with the wind is a better read in my opinion – i’m a sucker for happy endings! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Banning Books in Malaysia « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

