Times the Bookshop Warehouse Sale

When you have warehouse sales like this, you never need to buy books at normal retail prices ever. Latest bestsellers at about 20% off, and tonnes of paperbacks and sometimes hardcovers even at RM8 (for overseas readers, USD$1.00 is RM3.80, so you can do some mental calculation and let your jaw drop when you realise how cheap books here can be).

That’s why I hardly buy, if ever, books from the three big-name bookstores in Malaysia, which are MPH, Times the Bookshop and Borders. There’s also Popular, but it’s really catered more to the Chinese literature market. And sometimes the newspapers give out discount coupons for certain books featured. I have bought Bridget Jones’s Diary, The Good Earth and the fourth Harry Potter with such discount coupons.

But I digress.

Anyway I bought four books from the warehouse sale:

J. R. R. Tolkien by Michael Coren (biography), hardcover for RM10
Manchester United: The Untold Story by Ned Kelly, hardcover for RM8
Barry Trotter & the Dead Horse by Michael Gerber, paperback for RM8 (this is just so stupidly uproarious, reminds me a lot of Stephen Chow movies)
A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby, paperback for RM26

If I had more money I would have enjoyed this run better. This warehouse sale happens every three months or so. There were really good books, like Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential for RM27, and I was so bloody tempted to get it, but I haven’t even watch his show, much less read his book, so I’ll have to skip him. Maybe next time I’ll get it. There were plenty of Roald Dahl’s children fiction staple, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (which I have), Matilda (ditto), et cetera. But to my dismay, James and the Giant Peach was not available, which was the one I do not have and wanted to get for a long time. They did not have The Time Traveller’s Wife either by Audrey Niffenegger. And there were no other Nick Hornby books aside from the one I have bought. (Not that I can afford all of them even if they were available, but still.)

Books by Marian Keyes, Cecelia Ahern, Louise Bagshawe, Bill Bryson, John Grisham, Wayne Rooney’s autobiography, Mitch Albom, that’s all I can remember seeing there. If you’re the kind who likes to search for obscure titles hoping for a hidden gem in one of them, there are rows and rows of such for you to idly browse. But do not touch Elizabeth Berg’s Open House; I’ve just finished reading that book borrowed from my library and trust me, you won’t want to waste your RM8 on that. Borrow it instead.

The warehouse sale will run until 24 September, which is next Sunday. A tip if you plan to go: if you’re buying some obscure title, do check out all the books of that title because sometimes they stick different price tags. I bought my Man U book for RM8, but I saw the same book with a RM10 tag on it at another table. I also suspect the prices might drop on Sunday.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 19:48:02

    I hate going to book warehouse sales because they always only sell overstocks and obscure things that I don’t recognize. And then I’ll be forced to buy some things that are seemingly interesting (since I have to travel pretty far to get to the sales venue) but end up not reading them. Haha.

    sulz: yes, i am very wary of obscure titles too, but sometimes they can be a gem. that’s why i bought what i bought, i know they would be good reads. *cross fingers*

    Reply

  2. sonya
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 05:35:05

    Let me know what you think about “A Long Way Down”. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

    sulz: i’m barely into it and i already know i’ll love it *cross fingers* – i was hooked the moment i read the synopsis!

    Reply

  3. lovelyloey
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 13:41:28

    Ooh, I read that. Well, I didn’t finish it because I just got bored after a while. But don’t let this affect anyone. Haha

    sulz: i must admit, though, i’m sidetracked by the man u book now. but i can’t not like it – spent rm26 on it! i have to like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

