The perfect companion to solitude

A book can be a person’s most loyal friend. You can open it up whenever you feel (like the urge to defecate), wherever you are (at the toilet), whatever the situation (constipation, diarrhoea, smooth-sailing dumps, whatever).

I shall stop being anal now.

It’s difficult to articulate the feelings I have for books. There’s not a day that I can go by without having a book to read, or at the very least the papers.

I am waiting for bus / train / ride home. Reading Ponyboy’s English assignment about living with brothers Sodapop and Darry, and life as a Greaser.

I am waiting for class to start. Getting acquainted with a giant who reads Dahl’s Chickens.

I am whiling away time before tv show starts. Cringing inwardly at Becky Bloomwood’s asinine attempts to cure shopaholism.

I am revising for tomorrow’s exam. Making no attempt to predict the whodunit: that’s Hercule Poirot’s job.

I pop to library every other week (now that have two blogs to maintain! Previously I used to go every week.) to stock up on new books. I always get a thrill of excitement when I discover a book that have I always wanted to read nestled in bookshelves, like playing a bookworm’s treasure hunt.

I guess I am that sort of person that feels lonely anywhere, and a book helps to feel less lonely. As if Ponyboy’s waiting patiently for me to read finish his English assignment. As if a giant can’t wait to tell me how he’s borrowed a Dahl’s Chickens book for eighty years to learn how to read and write. As if Becky pauses in mid-action of a terrifically mortifying situation for me to come back so she can continue her shopping misadventures. As if Hercule Poirot is delaying the most unpretentious of self-blowing trumpet session of the power of his little grey cells just for me to appear in his audience.

A book helps to feel less in loneliness, but more in solitude. As Paul Tillich said:

Language has created the word loneliness to express the pain of being alone, and the word solitude to express the glory of being alone.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kalyani
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 13:33:03

    I know what you mean. I mean there is this charm about stories: you can have all the thrill, the adrenalin-rush, the sorrow, without any real danger.

    sulz: yes, you get to ‘experience’ so many different cultures and characters at the comfort of your living room. and it doesn’t cost as much! though the experience is somewhat surreal…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

