Nonsense Poem

This poem is apparently written in the style of what is called a ‘nonsense poem’. An adult reading it might find it as nonsense, but if you read it from a child’s mind it’s actually fun! I can totally see a picture book made out of this poem.

Let’s Marry Said The Cherry

“Let’s marry,”
said the cherry.

“Why me?”
said the pea.

“‘Cause you’re sweet,”
said the beet.

“Say you will,”
said the dill.

“Think it over,”
said the clover.

“Don’t rush,”
said the squash.

“Here’s your dress,”
said the cress.

“White and green,”
said the bean.

“And your cape,”
said the grape.

“Trimmed with fur,”
said the burr.

“Won’t that tickle?”
said the pickle.

“Who knows?”
said the rose.

“Where’s the chapel?”
said the apple.

“In Greenwich,”
said the spinach.

“We’ll be there!”
said the pear.

“Wearing what?”
said the nut.

“Pants and coats,”
said the oats.

“Shoes and socks,”
said the phlox.

“Shirt and tie,”
said the rye.

“We’ll look jolly,”
said the holly.

“You’ll look silly,”
said the lily.

“You’re crazy,”
said the daisy.

“Come, let’s dine,”
said the vine.

“Yeah-let’s eat!”
said the wheat.

“And get stout,”
said the sprout.

“Just wait,”
said the date.

“Who will chime?”
said the lime.

“I’ll chime!”
said the thyme.

“Who will preach?”
said the peach.

“It’s my turn!”
said the fern.

“You would ramble,”
said the bramble.

“Here they come!”
cried the plum.

“Start the tune!”
cried the prune.

“Altogether!”
cried the heather.

“Here we go!”
said the sloe.

“NOW- let’s marry!”
said the cherry.

“Why me?”
said the pea.

“Oh, my gosh!”
said the squash.

“Start all over,”
said the clover.

“NO WAY!”
said the hay.

N. M. Bodecker

Found this while blog surfing, as it is now National Poetry Month is the US of A.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Hoffman
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 14:06:07

    This brought me back! I love it!

    Reply

  2. Brian Katcher
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 12:58:11

    I remember this one from third grade. My teacher said the marriage would never work, as the Cherry and Pea were of different species. “It would be like Brian trying to marry a chimpanzee.” Thanks, Mrs. Dawkins…

    Reply

  3. Shantavia Alexander
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 10:58:42

    I remember this from when I was in the third grade @ Broadmore Elementary School. This really brought back memories for me.

    Reply

  4. iris
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 20:03:55

    My sister and I would say this poem over and over. I read to my children. Good reading Elmore Park.

    Reply

  5. VanessaRose
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 10:35:11

    Aaaaah. The good ole nonsense Literure! Brings back sweet memories !!
    I remember a few line mad stuck with me the past 20years ! I have now retread this poem to my 2 children in their teens who can defiantly relate to the charters!

    Reply

  6. shorita
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 17:40:49

    truly awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Emina
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 15:22:34

    I used to have a picture book of this with other wonderful short stories. This was my favorite. Up until now I always say “why me, said the pea” but no one understands. The book is called Under the Midnight Stars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

