Beauty in the Handicapped

I just like the last stanza of this poem.

Near the School for Handicapped Children

His hat is rammed on
his shirt jerks at his body
his feet cannot hold in
_______the sway__ he cannot keep still.
When I see his face, it is freckled
to remind me of nephews
his limbs remind me of how straight
is my own spine and that I take my fingers
for granted.
He is waiting for the green ligh.
_______My fingers clench
__I am hurt by my wholeness
__I cannot take my eyes from him
__I fear my daughter may be watching
He has been dressed carefully
__I’m here I’m here I’m here
his whole struggle rasps me like a whisper
__and when the lights do change
___he skips across the road he
____skips he dances and skips
_____leaving us all behind like a skimming tambourine
______brittle with music.

Thomas Shapcott

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grace
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 18:07:00

    hi,
    i was wondering what this poem is about? What does it mean?
    Thankyou

    Reply

    • jordan
      Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:35:14

      it is about him waiting to be accepted. and also how people perceive and judge others who are different. IT can also be seen as representing broken views of society. This is shown by the enjambment, which is the broken format of the poem.

      Reply

  2. Jimmy T
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 23:20:28

    The structure of the poem is also very important. If you notice the irregular structure of the poem reflects upon the possible physical/mental and emotional challenges that this child faces. The repetitive use of “I” also symbolises that the poet is severely affected by the challenges faced by this child and is possibly fascinated by his appearance and attitude.

    Reply

  3. Jimbos
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 08:09:56

    thankes fellas

    Reply

  4. R
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 17:04:36

    That is lot of information

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

