The Mother of all Young Adult Booklists

This site compiles all the notable coming-of-age young adult books. Should come in handy if you’re looking to give a book to a tween or teen. The list is helpfully divided into

Books Girls Will Identify With Strongly,
Books Boys Will Identify With Strongly,
Boys & Girls Will Relate Equally,
Books GLBT YAs Will Identify With Strongly (!),
Mysteries/Thrillers That Include Characters Coming-of-Age,
Classics,
Graphic Novels,
Science Fiction & Fantasy and
Adult Books With Coming-Of-Age Themes.

Among the books in the list I have read are:

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
The Anne of Green Gables series by LM Montgomery (I read some of the books in the series)
The Pigman by Paul Zindel
The Outsiders by SE Hinton
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfield
White Boots by Noel Streatfield

It’s definitely a diverse list, but I must add 10 of my own recommendations that are not in this list.

When Jeff Comes Home by Catherine Atkins
Life in the Fat Lane by Cherie Bennett
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume
Getting In by James Finney Boylan
My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
I Am David by Anne Holm
Blood & Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause
Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
Shane by Jack Schaefer
Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SilverNeurotic
    May 31, 2007 @ 04:31:38

    I’ve read 14 of them. I’d add “Black Swan Green” to that list…can’t remember the author off hand though.

    I’m glad to see “Perks of Being a Wallflower” on there, I just finished it and quite enjoyed it.

    nylusmilk: 14 in the list? i didn’t know you read young adult as part of your reading diet. it’s not exactly the high couture of literature, after all… lol.

    Reply

  2. Josette
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 14:35:06

    I’ve been dying to read ‘I Capture The Castle’ for a long time. It’s there on my table waiting to be read. And I’ve scoured through positive reviews of Speak. Can’t wait to buy that book, too.

    Great blog you have! I’m glad I found it.

    nylusmilk: please read it as soon as you can, it’s quite a nice read! :) i didn’t fancy speak (but it’s pretty good, admittedly) as much as when jeff comes home by catherine atkins; if you see that you might want to give it a try.

    thank you for that lovely compliment! hope you come back to visit often. :D

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Top 100 Children’s Picks by Educators « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

